The Beatitudes: The Essential Nature of the Christian

The Beatitudes “Season” is the first 13 chapters of Studies in the Sermon on the Mount.  

Each chapter is approximately 30 minutes of audio, with the entire set totaling 6 1/2 hours.

Total audio length: 383 minutes

In this series of 13 sermons Dr. Lloyd-Jones draws us to an extraordinary level of understanding of what it means to be a Christian.  Indeed he makes clear that the Sermon on the Mount is solely for Christians, a model for their behavior and “to expect Christian conduct from a person who is not born again is heresy”.  Additionally, he elucidates in unique fashion the perfectness of the Sermon on the Mount, and reconciles seemingly difficult contradictions that ultimately inspire a greater and deeper faith.  He notes that “The more we live and try to practice this Sermon on the Mount, the more we shall experience blessing.”

As you listen along with the narrator consider exploring the extras tab for access to hymns, verses, biographies, a glossary and word games based on the content unique to this app.

Contents and Audio Length:

Preface 04:22

Chapter 1 – General Introduction 33:38

Chapter 2 – General View and Analysis 27:08

Chapter 3 – An Introduction to the Beatitudes 27:13

Chapter 4 – Matthew 5:3 Blessed are the Poor in Spirit 30:06

Chapter 5 – Matthew 5:4 Blessed are they that Mourn 28:16

Chapter 6 – Matthew 5:5 Blessed are the Meek 26:57

Chapter 7 – Matthew 5:6 Righteousness and Blessedness 30:40

Chapter 8 – Matthew 5:6 The Tests of Spiritual Appetite 28:35

Chapter 9 – Matthew 5:7 Blessed are the Merciful 30:47

Chapter 10 – Matthew 5:8 Blessed are the Pure in Heart 30:27

Chapter 11  – Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the Peacemakers 29:51

Chapter 12 – Matthew 5:10 The Christian and Persecution 27:0

Chapter 13 – Matthew 5:11,12 Rejoicing in Tribulation  28:27